Pratt Guides: Cincinnati Children's Archives: Collections

About

Collections Overview

Welcome to the Collections guide. Here you will discover finding aids to the Cincinnati Children’s Archives’ Archival Collections, Manuscript Collections, Audiovisual Collections, and Material Culture Collections.

In total, these are archival resources that tell some part of the story of the development, its staff, and community of Cincinnati Children’s since 1883.

Archival Collections are noted by the HR designation which means Hospital Records. These are records created by the institution.

Manuscript Collections are noted by MS designation which means Manuscript. These are records created by individuals that worked for the institution.

Audiovisual Collections are noted by AV designation. These records are primarily created by the institution in the form of oral history interviews but can also include teaching material or documentation of staff gatherings.

Material Culture Collections are noted by MC designation. These records are typically three-dimensional in nature and are items that document the history of medicine and technologies used over the years as it relates to Cincinnati Children's. Also included is artwork.

Archival Collections

Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Research Foundation Collection (HR-1)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Research Foundation Collection encompasses the tenures of A. Ashley Weech and Edward L. Pratt as directors of the Research Foundation. Records consist of executive correspondence, Advisory Council minutes and correspondence, grant applications and awards, budgets, staff lists, and more.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Co-operative Society Records (HR-2)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Co-operative Society Records consist of meeting minutes, reports, correspondence, and Thrift Shop records documenting the history of the Co-operative Society, along with a handwritten history by Mrs. Burke.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Clinical Records Collection (HR-3)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Clinical Records Collection contains records from the clinical side of the hospital, including statistics, reports, registers, logs, and patient histories.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Board of Trustees Records (HR-4)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Board of Trustees Records contain meeting minutes of the Board of Trustees, the Research Committee of the Board of Trustees, and the Advisory Council.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Staff Records Collection (HR-5)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Staff Records Collection consists of minutes and other records of medical departments within Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center together with logs of patient admitting rounds conducted by Cincinnati Children's faculty.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Material Culture Collection (HR-6)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Material Culture Collection consists of medical equipment together with historic artifacts from and about Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. Included are memorabilia of physicians, nurses, and administrators at Cincinnati Children's, as well as personal items..
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Scrapbook Collection (HR-7)
The Cincinnati Children's Hospital Scrapbook Collection consists of oversize scrapbooks concerning Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center and its activities. Included are scrapbooks on the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Research Foundation and other departments of CCHMC. The collection also contains two oversize scrapbooks on Cincinnati General Hospital.
Guide to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Volunteer Services Collection (HR-9)
Records, brochures, programs, and photographs pertaining to the Volunteer Services department of Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center.

Audiovisual Collections

Heritage Video Series
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center is proud of its rich history of excellence in pediatric healthcare – a tradition that stretches all the way back to 1883. We’re the home of major developments and discoveries, including the science of teratology (the study of birth defects), the oral polio vaccine, artificial blood, the heart-lung machine, new lung surfactant replacement and the rotavirus vaccine. Today, we’ve grown to become one of the nation’s largest pediatric facilities, training programs and research institutions. Children’s staff members serve as the faculty of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Our treatment of rare and complex conditions draws patients from every state and dozens of other countries.

To preserve our great history of treatments for rare and complex conditions, the medical center has produced a series of interviews with distinguished faculty and people who have made medical history.

Manuscript Collections

Guide to the J. Victor Greenebaum Papers (MS-1)
The J. Victor Greenebaum Papers consist of J. Victor Greenebaum's personal correspondence, publications, writings, and addresses; together with medical pamphlets from his early days practicing medicine, and two Harvard Alumni Bulletins.
Guide to the A. Graeme Mitchell Papers (MS-2)
The A. Graeme Mitchell Papers consist primarily of correspondence, writings and addresses. Also included are research and correspondence files on art and etchings by Mitchell or collected by Mitchell.
Guide to the William Gerhardt Research Collection (MS-3)
Collection consisting of personal papers of William Gerhardt, a Cincinnati pediatrician and staff historian at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. The vast bulk of the collection focuses on the history of Cincinnati Children's, consisting of newspaper clippings, historical records, correspondence, and miscellaneous materials compiled by Gerhardt. The material covers a wide range of subjects, including biographical files on significant personalities, hospital publications, departments and clinics in the medical center, the history of Cincinnati Children's and the development of pediatrics.

Contact Us

Welcome to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Archives

To find out more information about the Archives, our holdings, and services, please use the menu on the left.

Please note, collections do not circulate and must be used in the Mitchell-Nelson Library and Archives.

For questions or requests, please email: archives@cchmc.org or call 513-636-2857.

Our hours are Monday - Friday, 9 am-12 pm, 1 pm-4 pm. The Archives is located in the Mitchell-Nelson Library and Archives, Building R, Floor 3 (around the corner from the Research Auditorium).

Please fill out our Reference Request Form to schedule an appointment.