Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cincinnati Children's Archives

Regulations for Use of Archival Materials

Visiting Cincinnati Children’s Archives

Researchers are required to register upon entering the Mitchell-Nelson Library and Archives.

Researchers are required to read and sign the Registration for the Use of Archival Collections form. By doing this the researcher indicates an understanding of the regulations and a willingness to abide by them.

Eating and drinking is prohibited.

Briefcases, backpacks, and other bags must be locked away during the researcher's visit and are subject to search prior to their removal from the Library and Archives.

Handling Archival Items

Researchers will be asked to wash hands with soap and water before handling research materials.

In handling manuscripts, printed materials and photographs researchers should only touch the edges of the paper. In some instances, researchers may be asked to wear gloves.

All archival materials must be retrieved for the researcher by the Archives staff.

The use of any kind of pen is prohibited. Only pencils (provided) or laptop computers may be used for notetaking.

Writing on papers placed on top of research materials is prohibited.

Do not change the order in which a collection has been filed. If this occurs by accident, please inform the Archives staff.

When research is completed, please leave all archival materials on the table.

Removal of materials from Cincinnati Children’s Archives without permission constitutes theft under the law.

Using Cameras

Researchers are not permitted to scan archival materials for protection of the materials. Duplication services are available for a fee.

Digital cameras are allowed in the reading room for reference purposes only. Patrons using a digital camera must sign and follow the Camera Use Policy Agreement each visit.

Using Materials & Copyright

The use of some manuscripts and archives are prohibited by law. The researcher must comply with the terms of any restriction placed on manuscripts or records.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for conforming to the laws of libel and literary property rights, which may be involved in his/her use of manuscripts and other records.

Researchers may neither USE nor REVEAL BY NAME OR ASSOCIATION the identity of any individual whose health information is in a document or record, without express written permission from the person named or their legal guardians or heirs.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is NOT to be used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research. Further reproduction or deposit in an archive, library or other institution is prohibited. The Center reserves the right to refuse a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. All responsibility for compliance with copyright laws in the appropriate jurisdiction arising from the use of the archival materials is the researcher’s.

Contact Us

Welcome to the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Archives. To find out more information about the Archives, our holdings and services, please use the menu on the left.

Please note, collections do not circulate and must be used in the Mitchell-Nelson Library and Archives.

For questions or requests, please email: james.damico@cchmc.org or call 513-636-2857.

Our hours are Monday - Friday, 9am-12pm, 1pm-4pm. The Archives is located in the Mitchell-Nelson Library and Archives, Building R, Floor 3 (around the corner from the Research auditorium). 

Please fill out our Reference Request Form to schedule an appointment. 

Calendar