Skip to Main Content

Database Searching Tutorials: Further Information and Training

This guide provides information about tutorials that are available to demonstrate how to use different scholarly databases

Pratt Library Database Information and Training

There are a number of databases available for you to search through the Pratt Research Library. Many have similar search functions and universal limits/filters to narrow your search:

  • Boolean search operators  AND, OR, NOT)
  • Year OR Date Range
  • Language  
  • Publication type (type of study),
  • Age groups

Databases - Start Research Here

Consider Point of Care Tools

Point of care resources offer highly-structured clinical decision tools that allow information on diagnosis and treatment to be quickly retrieved at the point of care. These resources synthesize and evaluate the most relevant evidence from the primary clinical literature, and they include detailed summaries of a wide range of conditions and interventions, rationale for patient care decisions, and links to original studies.

  • DynaMed
  • UptoDate

Evidence Based Search Advice

While this guide is intended to connect you with resources to help you learn how to use specific databases more effectively, we also have additional information and tips about search strategy in our Evidence-Based Literature Searching Guide.

To access the databases please visit the Databases on the Pratt Library website. Cincinnati Children's employees can also access even more databases located via UC Libraries directly through our affiliate access.